Argentina – Travelers from thirty-five countries to receive business visa waivers

What has changed

Effective immediately, travelers from countries in the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development will not need to apply for a business visa when traveling to Argentina for less than ninety (90) days for business or any other economic activity, regardless of representation of a company/foreign capital, provided that the travelers receive no compensation from Argentinian sources while in Argentina.

Who is affected?
  • All business travelers entering Argentina from one of the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) member states: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America
What to expect
This change was authorized when Resolution 137-E was issued by the Ministry of Internal Affairs on March 23rd, 2017. It was published in the Official Gazette on March 28th, 2017 and took effect ten days later. While nationals of many of the country members of the OECD were already allowed to enter Argentina for business and related economic activities without a visa, their entry was not properly regulated by any edict. The Resolution 137-E/2017 sets forth that all members of said treaty are exempted from the need to apply for a 24H Business Visa. It includes previously allowed country members and several new ones. However, it is important to note that Resolution 137-E applies only to current members of the OECD and does not include countries whose membership is pending or partner countries.
What you need to do
Planning ahead
  • Contact your Emigra Worldwide representative for further details on how these updates may impact you or your client.