Colombia – Dependants of MERCOSUR Nationals May Now Benefit from New TP-15 Visa Category

What has changed

Effective immediately, Colombian Authorities have introduced a new visa category for MERCOSUR nationals.  The visa for MERCOSUR nationals is now labeled as a TP-15 visa and will now allow for non-MERCOSUR family members to obtain dependent status in Colombia.

Who is affected?
What to expect

  • Nationals of the following countries are able to apply for the TP-15 visa either on arrival or at a Colombian consulate abroad.
    • Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay
    • The TP-15 is currently not available for Venezuelan nationals, as there is no reciprocal process for Colombians migrating to Venezuela.
  • Non-MERCOSUR family members such as spouses, unmarried partners, and children under 24 years  of age may now obtain immigration status as dependants of a MERCOSUR national.

Dependent visa status will only allow the visa holder to reside or study in Colombia.  Work activities are not permissible.

Previously, non-MERCOSUR nationals would need to apply for independent visa statuses when accompanying MERCOSUR family members to Colombia.

What you need to do
Planning ahead

  • Contact your Emigra Worldwide attorney or representative for further details on how these updates may impact you or your clients.

The information above was provided by Emigra Worldwide, our global network partners, and relevant government authorities. The information herein is for general purposes only and not intended as advice for a particular matter. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the global immigration professional with whom you work.