Colombia – New Visa Categories and Requirements Under Resolution 6045

What is changing?

On August 2, 2017, the Colombian government published Resolution 6045, which established new provisions for visas and repealed Resolution 5512 of 2015. The new visa categories and requirements are scheduled to take effect on November 1, 2017. Previously, there were three (3) subcategories (Business, Temporary, and Resident), each with their specific subcategories. The new subcategories will be grouped into the following three (3) categories:

-Visitor type or V type visa

-Migrant or M type visa

-The Resident or type R visa

Additionally, some companies and applicant requirements have changed, while others have been made official.

Please see ‘What to expect’ for further information.

Who will be affected?

  • All clients planning assignments to Colombia

What to expect

Each type of visa will allow the exercise of activities previously permissible under the subcategories available in Resolution 5512 of 2015. Although the subcategories of the visas were eliminated, the applicant must still submit requirements that are specific to the activities that he or she will perform in the country.

All visas granted under Resolution 5512 in 2015 will remain in effect with the conditions and permissions that originally applied when they were issued.Upon expiration, new visas will be granted under Resolution 6045 of 2017.

What you need to do
Planning ahead
  • Contact your Emigra Worldwide representative for further details on how these updates may impact you or your client.