India – New eMigrate Registration Requirement for Indian Nationals with Employment Visas for Some Middle Eastern and Asian Countries

What has changed

On November 20, 2018, the Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) issued an advisory, announcing that Non-Emigration Check Required (ECNR) passport-holding Indian nationals will be required to register with eMigrate (the Indian government recruitment portal) before traveling for employment/work in eighteen (18) specified Middle Eastern and Asian countries.

Effective January 1, 2019, all Indian nationals must pre-register with eMigrate before traveling to any of the eighteen (18) specified countries on an employment visa. The eighteen (18) specified countries include; Afghanistan, Bahrain, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Thailand, UAE, and Yemen.

Previously, only ECR (Emigration Clearance Required) Indian nationals were required to register with the eMigrate portal.

Who is affected

All clients with employees who are Indian nationals and who are expecting to travel to any of the listed eighteen (18) countries on employment visas starting January 1, 2019.

What to expect

The new recruitment procedure through the eMigrate portal is expected to protect ECR and ECNR passport holders against human trafficking, illegal recruitment, and exploitation.

All Indian nationals who are traveling with an employment visa are required to complete registration at least twenty-four (24) hours prior to departure. Registration can be completed by visiting the following link.

After January 1, 2019, authorities will off-load any unregistered Indian nationals at airports.

What you need to do

Contact your Emigra Worldwide representative for further details on how these updates may impact you or your client.